Indian Railway PNR Status and IRCTS PNR Status

Mostly in India people travel through train as it is an affordable and convenient medium of traveling. In the modern day find out the PNR status from your mobile through internet by using PNR number.PNR is the online documentation of the Indian railway reservation system. PNR is short name for ‘Passenger Name Record. It is a record in the database of Indian Railways computer reservation system (IR-CRS) against which journey details for a passenger, or a group of passengers are saved.

The passenger provide information that include the name of the passenger, age, gender, berth preference, date of journey, contact information, train number, class of travel etc. A PNR issued by the central reservation system. PNR number is generally printed at the top left corner of the printed tickets. if you Check PNR Status you will be surprised to note that the railway corporation is also changing with the time.

=> There are many techniques that have been designed to check PNR Status and IRCTC PNR Status enquiry information to passenger to check online train PNR STATUS enquiry.


1. PNR status enquiry through online websites

2. Current reservation status check using SMS

3. Mobile applications

4. Railway enquiry counters at railway station

On website you all need to do is enter your 1o digit numbers into the box made available to you, after that click and submit button and you are done.

via sms method of checking PNR status, all you need is to have a code to send your message to provide number and Depending on the mobile service provider you use, settings or processes might vary proceed charges may apply.

PNR<your PNR number>

For example – 1023456789

Another method is to dial 139 which is a toll free number from your landline or mobile. After the three digit number has been dialed, follow the voice prompt. When voice prompt also known as interactive voice response is followed well, the best results will be achieved.


You can go to at railway station for all the queries.

Once you get PNR status, then you have to know whether the ticket is confirmed or not.There are different types of PNR status codes that you will get. The list of PNR status codes are shown below:

1 CNF / Confirmed : Confirmed

2 RAC : Reservation Against Cancellation

3 WL : Waiting List Number

4 GNWL : General Wait List

5 RLWL : Remote Location Wait List

6 PQWL : Pooled Quota Wait List

7 CAN / MOD : Cancelled or Modified Passenger

8 REGRET/WL : No More Booking Permitted

9 R# #RAC : Coach Number Berth Number

10 RELEASED Ticket : Not Cancelled but Alternative Accommodation Provided


The catering, tourism and online railway reservation of the Indian railway is undertaken by the IRCTC (Indian catering and tourism corporation). The IRCTC PNR Status website is designed to allow the user to book, modify and cancel ticket online and also provide information on train timetables, seat availability and PNR status and various train PNR status. The website is user friendly. Ticket on railway reservation can be reserved up to 90 days prior to the travel date. You can book your tickets through the website, Online railway reservation system helps to book train ticket by paying fast through credit cards and confirm a seat on train by one click .The train journey is safe and comfortable 70% public travel by train .with the help of technology it is not necessary to check the railway reservation chart of the station.

Share This Story